Learning Centers

High School Learning Center – Independent Study (on campus):

Learning Centers are located on all of the 12 Sweetwater Union High School District’s high school campuses and provide students with an alternative way of reaching educational goals. In the Learning Center classroom environments, students are offered one-on-one, personalized learning on campus with a student commitment to self-paced independent learning at home. Students attend these centers for two hour blocks, five days a week, and are expected to maintain attendance to remain in the program. Learning Center students are subject to the district’s rigorous standards so they receive the same diploma as the students in the comprehensive high schools. Students may apply to a Learning Center through a team decision process initiated on the main campus involving administration, counseling, parent(s) and the student.

Bonita Vista High School Learning Center

751 Otay Lakes Road
Chula Vista, California, 91913 Phone: (619) 397-2080
Fax: (619) 397-2180

Coordinator: Tony Valdez
Tony.Valdez@sweetwaterschools.org

Counselor: Dorothy Barrett
Dorothy.Barrett@sweetwaterschools.org

Teacher: Thomas Maier
Thomas.Maier@sweetwaterschools.org

Teacher: Carl Song
Carl.Song@sweetwaterschools.org

Senior Office Assistant: Jennifer Cordova
Jennifer.Cordova@sweetwaterschools.org

Instructional Assistant: Daniel Gutierrez
Daniel.GutierrezJr@sweetwaterschools.org

Castle Park High School Learning Center

1395 Hilltop Drive
Chula Vista, California, 91911 Phone: (619) 585-2080
Fax: (619) 585-2380

Coordinator: James Giller
James.Giller@sweetwaterschools.org

Counselor: Maribel Andrade
Maribel.Andrade@sweetwaterschools.org

Teacher: Carlos Nava
Carlos.Nava@sweetwaterschools.org

Teacher: Judy Sypnier
Judy.Sypnier@sweetwaterschools.org

Senior Office Assistant: Alma Montoya
Alma.Montoya@sweetwaterschools.org

Instructional Assistant: John Molina
John.Molina@sweetwaterschools.org

Chula Vista High School Learning Center

450 K Street
Chula Vista, California, 91911 Phone: (619) 476-3380
Fax: (619) 427-6538

Coordinator: Roberto Chaidez
Roberto.Chaidez@sweetwaterschools.org

Counselor: Kevin Smith
Kevin.Smith@sweetwaterschools.org

Teacher: Martha Calderon
Martha.Calderon@sweetwaterschools.org

Teacher: Steven Navarro
Steven.Navarro@sweetwaterschools.org

Senior Office Assistant: Rosalba Enriquez
Rosalba.Enriquez@sweetwaterschools.org

Instructional Assistant: Alexandra Brown
Alexandra.Brown@sweetwaterschools.org

Eastlake High School Learning Center

1120 East Lake Parkway Chula Vista, California, 91911
Phone: (619) 397-3880
Fax: (619) 397-3990

Coordinator: Robert Barrett
Robert.Barrett@sweetwaterschools.org

Counselor: Lorraine Almendarez
Lorraine.Almendarez@sweetwaterschools.org

Teacher: Roberto Del Busto
Roberto.DelBusto@sweetwaterschools.org

Teacher: Dean Tropp
Dean.Tropp@sweetwaterschools.org

Senior Office Assistant: Karla Ybanez
Karla.Yabanez@sweetwaterschools.org

Instructional Assistant: Anthony Todd
Anthony.Todd@sweetwaterschools.org

Hilltop High School Learning Center

555 Claire Avenue
Chula Vista, California, 91910 Phone: (619) 476-4280
Fax: (619) 476-4380

Coordinator: Robert Freels
Robert.Freels@sweetwaterschools.org

Counselor: Monica Perez
Monica.Perez@sweetwaterschools.org

Teacher: Katina Rondeau
Katina.Rondeau@sweetwaterschools.org

Teacher: Peter Ho Sing Loy
Peter.HoSingLoy@sweetwaterschools.org

Senior Office Assistant: Ruth Wenger
Ruth.Wenger@sweetwaterschools.org

Instructional Assistant: Margaret Dain
Margaret.Dain@sweetwaterschools.org

Mar Vista High School Learning Center

505 Elm Avenue
Imperial Beach, California, 91932 Phone: (619) 628-5780
Fax: (619) 575-6044

Coordinator: Alain Chevalier
Alain.Chevalier@sweetwaterschools.org

Counselor: Miguel Amaral
Miguel.Amaral@sweetwaterschools.org

Teacher: Paula Goleta
Paula.Goleta@sweetwaterschools.org

Teacher: Dan Woodard
Dan.Woordard@sweetwaterschools.org

Senior Office Assistant: Veronica Sanchez
Veronica.Sanchez@sweetwaterschools.org

Instructional Assistant: Anabel Moreno Barajas
Anabel.MorenoBarajas@sweetwaterschools.org

Montgomery High School Learning Center

3250 Palm Avenue
San Diego, California, 92154 Phone: (619) 628-3880
Fax: (619) 628-3980

Coordinator: Susan Stratton
Susan.Stratton@sweetwaterschools.org

Counselor: Alfredo Cendejas
Alfredo.Cendejas@sweetwaterschools.org

Teacher: Jorge Medina
Jorge.Medina@sweetwaterschools.org

Senior Office Assistant:  Vacant

Instructional Assistant: Ignacio Zamudio, Jr.
Ignacio.ZamudioJr@sweetwaterschools.org

Olympian High School Learning Center

1925 Magdalena Avenue
Chula Vista, California, 91913 Phone: (619) 656-2434
Fax: (619) 656-2498

Coordinator: Joseph Gonzalez
Joseph.Gonzalez@sweetwaterschools.org

Counselor: Tich Tran
Tich.Tran@sweetwaterschools.org

Teacher: Susanne Fletcher
Susanne.Fletcher@sweetwaterschools.org

Teacher: Ana Munoz
Ana.Munoz@sweetwaterschools.org

Senior Office Assistant: Alexa Vera
Alexa.Vera@sweetwaterschools.org

Instructional Assistant: Stephanie Ferris
Stephanie.Ferris@sweetwaterschools.org

Otay Ranch High School Learning Center

1250 Olympic Parkway
Chula Vista, California, 91913 Phone: (619) 591-5080
Fax: (619) 591-5075

Coordinator: Araceli Picone
Araceli.Perez-Picone@sweetwaterschools.org

Counselor: Cinthya Cassani
Cinthya.Cassani@sweetwaterschools.org

Teacher: Daniela Cruz
Daniela.Cruz@sweetwaterschools.org

Senior Office Assistant: Wendy Cassani
Wendy.Cassani@sweetwaterschools.org

Instructional Assistant: Brenda Rivera
Brenda.Rivera@sweetwaterschools.org

San Ysidro High School Learning Center

5353 Airway Road
San Diego, California, 92154 Phone: (619) 690-7080
Fax: (619) 710-2318

Coordinator: Irene Leivas-Howard
Irene.Leivas-Howard@sweetwaterschools.org

Counselor: Elvia Estrella
Elvia.Estrella@sweetwaterschools.org

Teacher: Pablo Garcia
Pablo.Garcia@sweetwaterschools.org

Teacher: Jennifer Lopez
Jennifer.Lopez@sweetwaterschools.org

Senior Office Assistant:  Vacant

Instructional Assistant:  Vacant

Southwest High School Learning Center

1685 Hollister Street
San Diego, California, 92154 Phone: (619) 628-3680
Fax: (619) 628-3780

Coordinator: Russell Moore
Russell.Moore@sweetwaterschools.org

Counselor: Armando Melendrez
Armando.Melendrez@sweetwaterschools.org

Teacher: Monica Lehpamer
Monica.Lehpamer@sweetwaterschools.org

Teacher: Jeffrey Mechling
Jeffrey.Mechling@sweetwaterschools.org

Senior Office Assistant: Norma Flores
Norma.Flores@sweetwaterschools.org

Instructional Assistant: Benita Viramontes
Benita.Viramontes@sweetwaterschools.org

Sweetwater High School Learning Center

2900 Highland Avenue National City, California, 91950
Phone: (619) 474-9780
Fax: (619) 474-9785

Coordinator: Maria Santana
Maria.Santana@sweetwaterschools.org

Counselor:  Vacant

Teacher: Janice Carrillo-Honan
Janice.Carrillo-Honan@sweetwaterschools.org

Teacher: Marisela Rime
Marisela.Rime@sweetwaterschools.org

Senior Office Assistant: Victoria Hernandez
Victoria.Hernandez@sweetwaterschools.org

Instructional Assistant: Jessica Campos
Jessica.Campos@sweetwaterschools.org